State Records Center and Archives

New Mexico Commission of Public Records

SERIES: Human Resources (SRCA 400)
NUMBER:  SRCA-415
TITLE: Overtime Request, Authorization and Compensation

PURPOSE: To establish a uniform policy for compensation of SRCA employees who have worked
overtime.

SCOPE: This policy applies to all SRCA employees.

DEFINITIONS:

“Covered employee” means an employee who is covered by the overtime provisions of the Fair Labor
Standards Act. Positions within the commission of public records — state records center and archives that
fit this definition include office and administrative support workers, secretaries, and information record
clerks.

“Overtime status” refers to whether an employee is covered or not covered (exempt) by the Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA).

“SRCA” means the New Mexico Commission of Public Records - State Records Center and Archives.
“SPO” means the State Personnel Office.
“Workweek’ means Saturday through Friday.

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS: The SRCA overtime compensation policy is governed by the State
Personnel Board (SPB) rules and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). SRCA has a right to require
employees to work overtime, consistent with the FLSA and SPB, in order to accomplish the mission of
the agency. Supervisors must distribute overtime in a fair and equitable manner and make every effort to
provide employees with reasonable notice of scheduled overtime work. Overtime work must be held to a
minimum consistent with efficient utilization of human resources and it must be properly documented.

SRCA employees must receive prior authorization from the Deputy to perform overtime work, except for
an emergency, when an employee is unable to obtain prior approval. An employee will be appropriately
compensated for any overtime worked without prior authorization, if the employee's supervisor knew or
clearly should have known that the employee was working overtime and permitted the employee to do so.
Failure to obtain prior authorization may lead to disciplinary action.

The FLSA requires SRCA employees who are non-exempt from this law be compensated at one and one-
half times their hourly rate of pay for extra hours worked beyond the 40-hour workweek. SRCA
employees not covered or exempt from the overtime provisions of the FLSA will be compensated at the
rate of one hour for each hour worked beyond the 80 hours in a two-week period. In order to compensate
an employee with compensatory time off in lieu of cash payment, the employee must have a signed



Authorization to Perform Work Beyond Normal Work Schedule. This form is available on the SRCA
Intranet.

Supervisors may not change the workweek to avoid payment of overtime. A change to the scheduled
work hours within the workweek shall not be considered a change to the workweek. Supervisors are
prohibited from approving compensation, which has not been earned or authorized under SRCA policy or
state or federal law.

B. DETERMINATION OF STATUS AND APPEAL.: All positions within SRCA shall be
periodically reviewed and evaluated by the Human Resource Manager to determine the positions FLSA
exempt or non-exempt status. Upon hire, employees will receive an FLSA Determination form, which is
to be signed by the employee and supervisor then returned to the Human Resource Manager within 10
days of receipt. Upon promotion, reclassification, downgrade or other significant change to an employee's
position classification a new FLSA determination form will be signed by the employee and the supervisor
and returned to the Human Resource Manager within 10 days.

Employees, at any time, may appeal the assignment of their FLSA exempt or nonexempt exemption status
by filing a written document with the Human Resource Manager explaining the reasons for the appeal.
Upon receiving the appeal, the Human Resource Manager will investigate the appeal and make a
recommendation to the Administrator. The Administrator shall notify the employee in writing of the
appeal decision within 30 calendar days. Notification shall inform the employee that if they are
dissatisfied with SRCA’s decision they may appeal to the Director of the State Personnel Office (SPO)
within thirty-calendar days of receipt of the decision. The appeal to the Director of the SPO must be in
writing and must include the reason(s) why the employee believes they are improperly identified for
overtime coverage. The appeal must also include documentation describing the work currently being
performed by the employee and any other relevant information. All information contained in the appeal
must be verified by the Administrator.

C. FLSA COVERED EMPLOYEES (NON-EXEMPT): Overtime work by FLSA covered
employees is defined as hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. A supervisor may grant an
FLSA covered employee equal time off within the same workweek to avoid overtime work. FLSA non-
exempt employees will be paid in cash or Comp Time at the employee’s election, unless the employee is
informed at the time the overtime is assigned that only Comp Time is being offered and agrees to work
the overtime. Non-exempt employees may only accrue up to 240 hours and must be permitted to use
compensatory time on the date requested unless doing so would “unduly disrupt” the operations of the
agency. FLSA non-exempt employees will receive cash payment in lieu of compensatory time upon
separation from SRCA.

D. FLSA NON-COVERED EMPLOYEES (EXEMPT): Overtime worked by FLSA exempt
employees is defined as hours worked in excess of 80 hours in a two week period. Overtime worked by
FLSA exempt employees shall be compensated through compensatory time on an equal time basis. FLSA
exempt employees may not receive cash payment in lieu of compensatory time upon separation from
SRCA. FLSA exempt employees transferring from another state agency into SRCA may not have any
compensatory time that was earned while working for the other state agency transferred to SRCA. FLSA
exempt employees shall not carry more than a maximum of 160 hours of compensatory time at any time,
including the end of a calendar year.

E. TRAVEL TIME: Travel time from home to the normal place of work and from the normal place
of work to home is not counted as hours worked under normal circumstances. However, travel time that
takes place during an employee's normal workday is considered hours worked.



Travel time as a passenger in an airplane, bus, train, or automobile outside of regular working hours is
considered hours worked if the travel itinerary is approved by the State Records Administrator.

[New 8/10/01; Overtime portion replaces Policy 2.3.20.006, Overtime Request and Authorization, 2/7/96;
renumbered and amended, 3/7/2014; amended, 12/31/2014]

APPROVED: EFFECTIVE DATE:

Linda Trujillo-

December 31, 2014

Linda M. Trujillo
State Records Administrator



